3.9/173

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
mustached

3.9/173

Postby mustached » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:24 pm

Hey guys! I'm pretty sure the advice is going to be retake but I'm confused as to whether I should retake in February or in June. And I've got a few other questions:

1) I'm hoping to get into HYS, especially Yale, or UVA with big money. I'm sure the latter is a lock but what are my chances at former? Near as I can tell on LSN/reading a ton of threads, H is pretty sure and Y/S are tossups.

2) How are my softs? I have four years of work experience as a minister in an extremely low-income/crime-ridden area, and 2 years as a college professor of religion. My LORs will be personal and very positive, both from undergrad professors. I have an M.A., but my GPA is only 3.4 there. I wrote an addendum about that; my grad school commute was 400 miles round trip and I spend Sun-Wed sleeping on floors/couches to study and spent Wed-Sun working in the community.

3) I also remember reading on Yale's admission blog that being politically/religiously conservative might be an advantage because law schools tend to be left-leaning. Is this true? If so, by how much? I don't want to play it up for an advantage, but I imagine that it'll come through subtly in my P.S./resume. Just to be clear: I AM both of those; I'm not just looking for something to pad my app.

4) For the Feb/Jun retake question--I was PTing consistently at 177/178. I didn't sleep the night before the test due to excitement and I was somewhat burned out on PTs. I also ran out of time on LG and had to guess on 2. If HYS are my target schools, would a June retake even help there? I'm thinking I'd have to do Feb because waiting to June would mean I'd have most rejected (not WL). Is this true?

Thanks for your help guys! I really appreciate it.
Last edited by mustached on Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.