169 LSAT, 3.76 GPA

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
jingosaur

169 LSAT, 3.76 GPA

Postby jingosaur » Fri Jan 04, 2013 10:43 am

I just scored a 169 on my LSAT on my first try. I graduated from Wake Forest with a 3.76 GPA and was top in my major (finance). When I go back to school, I will have 3 years of work experience in consulting and will try to get into the JD/MBA program of every school I apply to.

Right now, my top choices are Penn, Northwestern, Columbia, and Cornell, in that order. I'm pretty sure I'll get into Cornell with my numbers and Northwestern oddly enough doesn't require the LSAT for the JD/MBA program. Also, my mom got her bachelor's and master's degrees from Columbia.

Do I need to take the LSAT again to have a good shot of getting into Penn and Columbia? I ranged between a 168 and 172 on most the 21 PrepTests that I took, but did have some outliers including 2 177s, a 175, and about 4 scores from 165 to 167. I'm worried that if I take it again and do worse, it could potentially take me out of range for Cornell and I don't really want to go to a law school outside the T-14.

Thanks in advance!

francesfarmer

Re: 169 LSAT, 3.76 GPA

Postby francesfarmer » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:06 am

You could retake, since you only exhausted 21 preptests and therefore you have a lot of material left to study with. How extensively did you study the first time around?

jingosaur

Postby jingosaur » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:20 am

I felt pretty well prepared for it. I made the decision to go to law school and take the LSAT about 3 months before my first test, but I spend a lot of time preparing for it. I didn't really see an upward trend on my Preptests after about the 7th one.

francesfarmer

Postby francesfarmer » Fri Jan 04, 2013 11:42 am