Pakistani Student

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
adeel

Pakistani Student

Postby adeel » Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:11 pm

I am a student from Pakistan and I have graduated from a local university (LUMS) with a Ugpa of 3.38 in 2012. I sat for my LSAT in December 2012 and scored a 163. What I want to know is that which law schools can I apply to at this time of the year and still be ensured an admission.

The most important thing for me right now is that which law schools in the top 40 offer scholarships to international students. I can not afford a JD unless more than 50% of my education is financed. Plus where can I find information regarding which law schools are the best for international applicants.

I would really appreciate if you can provide me the names so that I can begin searching on them and start applying as soon as possible.

Doorkeeper

Re: Pakistani Student

Postby Doorkeeper » Fri Jan 04, 2013 6:28 pm

You're an international student, so your GPA will not be given to law schools. LSAC will review your GPA and give you a grading "superior", "above average", etc. Law schools then shift their focus to your LSAT score. Basically you only have a chance of acceptance at schools that your LSAT score (164) is above the median score for the school. Unfortunately, the schools whose medias are below 164 are not particularly good law schools and are not worth the large expense it costs to attend.

You should retake the LSAT and aim for around a 170.

adeel

Postby adeel » Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:20 am

Thank you very much for your reply. Yes, my degree is from an institution in Pakistan. According to LSAC my gpa remains 3.38. I am not really sure whether it will be completely disregarded, if it is, I think that might help my case. What do you think?