155 - 3.25- kind of a unique case Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
tonto

New

155 - 3.25- kind of a unique case

Post by tonto » Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:44 pm

155 LSAT
3.25-3.30 GPA (depending on final grades this semester)

The median numbers at my top choice are 160 LSAT and 3.4 GPA.

I have spoken with an admissions recruiter at my top school choice and was told to look at re-taking in February if I think I can score higher, and if not to ago ahead and apply with a GPA addendum. When I asked him about being so far below the medians he told me not to worry too much because, of course, 50% of the law school is below the median and I have a unique case.

My situation is that I played D1 football for 2 years and when I left the team I had a 2.3 GPA. I improved my GPA every semester after that and raised it to a 3.25 before I graduated and he thought this was worthy of attaching an addendum.

Also I have 8 family members that attend this school and one family member that is currently an employee of the school.

And in addition to that, I worked with a federal agency for 4 months which resulted in me getting two huge letters of rec from high ranking govt officials that I personally worked with.

Could my circumstances give me any leverage in being admitted below the median?

And if I re-take in Feb. and score worse, would that hurt my chances?

I am basically asking should I re-take or just apply?

Teflon_Don

Bronze

Re: 155 - 3.25- kind of a unique case

Post by Teflon_Don » Mon Dec 03, 2012 8:49 pm

tonto wrote:155 LSAT