173 Lsat Chances-Canadian

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Mckenzie H

173 Lsat Chances-Canadian

Postby Mckenzie H » Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:07 pm

Hi Everyone,

I am a Canadian student in my last year of business school with a major in Finance. Can I please get some help on my chances at tier one law schools in the U.S? Most of my family is in the United States and I would much rather live in the US even though I am aware Canadian schools are cheaper.

LSAT: 173-taken only once

Let me explain my GPA situation: I went through a bit of a tough time in my first two years of university (nothing traumatizing that can be explained in the application process) and ended up with a 3.0 GPA 1st year and a 3.2 second year. However, I got my act together third year and ended with a 3.83. I'm in my last year and from how it's going so far, I predict something along the lines of a 3.85 - 3.9 gpa. I know my first two years are atrociously low but does a much better GPA in my last two years and a high LSAT make up for it?

I attended a top business school in Canada and have 2 strong leadership extracurricular activities. As well, I worked two paid internships in the business field.

It would also be greatly appreciated if you can list some schools I may have a change at getting into.

Thank you in advance!

Doorkeeper

Re: 173 Lsat Chances-Canadian

Postby Doorkeeper » Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:36 pm

What's your total GPA from all 4 years (assume a 3.8 or 3.9 for senior year)?

Mckenzie H

Postby Mckenzie H » Fri Nov 30, 2012 10:52 pm

It would be around a 3.5 I believe. Canadians do grades a little differently but I'll be a high B+ student. Perhaps admissions would notice a dramatic upward trend?

Also just wanted to add that one of my internships was at one of the top Canadian banks as a summer analyst. Not sure if maybe that would help my case.

John_rizzy_rawls