Should I apply to Columbia / NYU? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
fruitoftheloom

Bronze

Should I apply to Columbia / NYU?

Post by fruitoftheloom » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:17 pm

3.49 / 174. 4 years of corporate work experience, not URM, no special softs.

I can afford the $250 it will cost me to apply, but I don't really want to burn money unless there's a decent chance I get in or get scholarships and can use that to negotiate with other schools.

I have applied to MVP down in the T14 and a couple of random other schools. I'm a TX resident, and I would be very hesitant to go to NYU / Columbia w/o a good scholarship because of the cost of living. I have enough savings that if I live frugally in a non-NYC area, I won't have to borrow for the COL.

Thoughts?

(btw - I have looked at LSN, it looks like I'm wait list territory, which to me means possible acceptance in late summer w no $$).

Thanks for the help!
Last edited by fruitoftheloom on Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

CanadianWolf

Diamond

Re: Should I apply t Columbia / NYU?

Post by CanadianWolf » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:20 pm

Law school applications are down this year so results for your numbers could be better than indicated by LSN. Otherwise, Northwestern should offer substantial scholarship money due to your LSAT & work experience.

Fitz51

Bronze

Re: Should I apply t Columbia / NYU?

Post by Fitz51 » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:51 pm

Do it for potential bargaining power? If 170+ scores are as highly sought after this cycle as the data would seem to indicate, you have a decent shot of getting in. If you do get in with no $$, use the acceptance to try and get a little more merit from MVP and down. As someone said in another thread, not applying to schools you have somewhat of a shot at can end up penny wise and pound foolish.

florida1949

Bronze

Re: Should I apply to Columbia / NYU?