164/3.85 Binding ED Duke

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
sicxela

164/3.85 Binding ED Duke

Postby sicxela » Thu Nov 29, 2012 11:29 am

I applied Binding ED to Duke about a month ago, but haven't heard anything back yet. I was surprised to get accepted into UT early decision (non-binding) yesterday. I have solid softs and a couple of strong letters of rec. I'm graduating Summa Cum Laude from a lower Tier 1 university this December, and am wondering what you guys think my chances at getting into Duke are? As a Texas resident, I'm thrilled with UT and wondering where I'll be going now! Also, do I have any chance at Penn, or is that too much of a long shot?
Last edited by sicxela on Sun Dec 02, 2012 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

BigZuck

Re: 164/3.85 Binding ED Duke

Postby BigZuck » Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:00 pm

If you want to work in Texas and only Texas I would switch over to RD at Duke ASAP. Otherwise they might accept you ED which could put you in a tough financial situation.

sicxela

Postby sicxela » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:10 pm

BigZuck wrote:If you want to work in Texas and only Texas I would switch over to RD at Duke ASAP. Otherwise they might accept you ED which could put you in a tough financial situation.

That's one of the things I was a little worried about, since UT is so affordable in-state. My worry is that, since I am interested in international law, I might have better job prospects at Duke? I wouldn't mind being based in Texas, or working in Texas if international law didn't work out (I have other interests as well), but if Duke would make me more marketable then it might be worth the extra debt. Any thoughts?

twenty

Postby twenty » Thu Nov 29, 2012 1:17 pm

Yes, but you won't get international law regardless (it doesn't exist). That said, you will have better job prospects out of Duke than you will UTexas.