167/3.78/good socioeconomic "softs"

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
mathais43

167/3.78/good socioeconomic "softs"

Postby mathais43 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:33 pm

I've applied so far to:

UC Berkeley
Duke
Northwestern
UCLA
USC
U Washington
Emory
UC Hastings

In the coming weeks I'm considering submitting applications to:

U Chicago
Notre Dame
BU or BC
UC Davis
Wake Forest
Pepperdine
Loyola LA
Tulane
Cardozo
Lewis & Clark
Miami

I'd really appreciate as much insight as possible into acceptance chances, scholarship potential, and decision timelines. I have an interesting socioeconomic background, as my parents were unsuccessful small business owners who lost our family home in the wake of the sub-prime lending debacle. I studied economics at a small liberal arts university in the Midwest on academic scholarship. Tried to frame a personal statement in this context as I think it provides the kind of "soft" admissions officers are looking for. Thanks in advance!

LawyerBrah

Re: 167/3.78/good socioeconomic "softs"

Postby LawyerBrah » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:36 pm

Why no Cornell or Georgetown?

mathais43

Postby mathais43 » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:40 pm

LawyerBrah wrote:Why no Cornell or Georgetown?

I'm pretty broke at the moment, so I've been picking schools from the list of fee waivers I've received. As my top choice, Berkeley is the only school I've paid to apply to thus far.

twenty

Postby twenty » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:41 pm

Yeah, your list really should include GULC and Cornell.

EDIT> Go solicit fee waivers. If they won't give them to you, apply anyway without.

hunter.d

Postby hunter.d » Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:45 pm

I agree, where is Georgetown or Cornell? I have nearly identical numbers and similiar socioeconomic story -- my dad writes mortgages for a living in one of the worst markets, wrote about it in a diversity statement.