2.9/160 URM Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
ponyboy7

New

2.9/160 URM

Post by ponyboy7 » Mon Oct 08, 2012 10:24 pm

Hello, thank you for reading. As you know by the title I got a 160 on my LSAT.

My lsac UGPA is 2.9, it is this low because of classes I took in high school. My major GPA is 3.17 with an increase in grades semester by semester. My undergrad institution is an average private school in Texas. I graduated December with a BA in Poli Sci.

I am a 22yr old Latino male from a border Texas town and I will be writing a diversity statement.

As far as softs go, I was a steering committee member of a well regarded national farmworker rights organization. In school I was president and captain of my school's Model OAS and I led our team to pass almost all our resolutions in Texas wide competition. I worked as a legislative intern for a Texas State Senator. And I did an internship with a national non-profit in Washington DC, while taking a continuing education course with the The Washington Center for Academic Seminars and Internships (twc.edu) receiving a certificate in the Post Graduate Professional Development Program (I hope this can show that I am committed to education and being a better student) I am also planning to volunteer in 3 months in Bolivia through Sustainable Bolivia this spring (still debating whether to add this to my resume). I've been currently working as a paralegal since May (I know)

My rec letters are from my Model OAS sponsor and from a professor who will give me an excellent rec vouching for my writing and scholarly abilities (I received the only 110 she's ever given on a paper).

As far as schools I am trying to think realistically and would love to have to chose between Pepperdine and American. Other schools include:
USD
Loyola
STCL
Santa Clara
UC Boulder
Tulane