Is double majoring a good idea?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
ssareshwala

Is double majoring a good idea?

Postby ssareshwala » Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:13 pm

I am currently a sophomore in college and I'm planning on double majoring in political science and international relations. I'm not sure if it will help me in my law school applications or if my weaker GPA will pull me down. What is the general consensus on double majoring?

Tom Joad

Re: Is double majoring a good idea?

Postby Tom Joad » Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:15 pm

If double majoring will lower your GPA by .2 I wouldn't do it. Especially since both majors are useless.

ETA: I meant .02.

bernaldiaz

Postby bernaldiaz » Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:48 pm

ssareshwala wrote:I am currently a sophomore in college and I'm planning on double majoring in political science and international relations. I'm not sure if it will help me in my law school applications or if my weaker GPA will pull me down. What is the general consensus on double majoring?

What exactly about a political science or an international relations degree do you think will help your application? And what about either of those majors would pull your GPA down? They're both cupcakes.

cahwc12

Postby cahwc12 » Sat Sep 01, 2012 3:21 pm

As someone with a political science degree, change your major to something more worthwhile.

Studying poli sci / inr at the undergraduate level isn't really worth anything for any field, much less law school. That said, your GPA should be 4.0 if you're studying those classes, so if law school is more important to you than being challenged in undergrad, you should do it.