Chances at Stanford?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
justanothernerd

Chances at Stanford?

Postby justanothernerd » Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:53 pm

Hey,

I just wanted to see if it's worth applying to a place like Stanford. My ugrad GPA in science was 3.59 -- I did a master's at MIT in engineering and got almost straight A's (4.9/5.0). I had to work a lot in undergrad (40+ hours/week) to support myself/family, so it is what it is. It took me a few semesters to be able to balance everything, basically. I got a 176 on the LSAT, which is above their median, but apparently Stanford doesn't care as much about the LSAT. I think I have a good story in terms of some entrepreneurial things I've been involved in that have given me a pretty solid focus for why I want to go to law school, and also why Stanford specifically. I don't know if these things help, but I want to craft myself as an attorney that focuses on helping startups out, since things like patent litigation/prosecution can cost a fortune (a friend of mine was almost bankrupted by a very big fish in a basically bullshit lawsuit meant only to bleed him dry). I have to think that if good lawyers were more readily available to help get some technologies off the ground that the state-of-the-art may be at least slightly more advanced. In my experience, top IP firms don't really want to touch startups, since conflicts of interest may prevent them getting a big client down the line.

Anyway, since it seems Stanford is a bit of a crap shoot, is there value in me applying? Like I said, I think I can craft a good story for them and demonstrate why it is I want to be a lawyer and specifically why Stanford, I'm just worried about my undergrad GPA.

Triveal

Re: Chances at Stanford?

Postby Triveal » Sun Aug 19, 2012 4:01 pm