3.35/164 - Schools in Florida - Retake?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
bananasplits

3.35/164 - Schools in Florida - Retake?

Postby bananasplits » Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:23 pm

Hey TLS,

I'm a Florida resident so I'm interested in staying in Florida and receiving in-state tuition. I have a 3.35 from UF and I got a 164 on my first LSAT. The schools I am interested in are UF, FSU, Miami, Stetson. FSU and UF are both state schools so the in-state tuition provides a larger incentive to choose one of them. I plan on applying as early as possible.

These are my questions:

1) I would very much like to get a scholarship. During my LSAT prep course the highest PT score I got was a 171. Should I retake in October hoping for a higher LSAT score to improve scholarship chances?

2) I was born in Europe and lived there my whole life until I began my undergraduate degree, I also speak multiple languages. I'm white though, so I don't expect to be considered "URM" status. However, is this information perhaps worth writing a diversity statement?

Thank you,

GATA1989

Re: 3.35/164 - Schools in Florida - Retake?

Postby GATA1989 » Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:48 pm

Just an 0L here but I have similar stats. I am retaking in Oct. because from everything I've read that seems to be the right choice, also if you hit 171 before your last LSAT with more practice you can reach that potential in Oct. and be in position for $$, so I would say definitely retake.

I have no advice with the second question though

Nova

Postby Nova » Sat Aug 18, 2012 12:49 pm

1. Yes. Retake the LSAT to increase your chances of admission and scholarships. You have a pretty good shot at UF/FSU already, but if you can improve your chances, why not?