Chances for Penn, Duke, UVA, Stanford?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
AdviceSeeker123

Chances for Penn, Duke, UVA, Stanford?

Postby AdviceSeeker123 » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:21 pm

I scored a 169 on my June LSAT (frustrating to be 1 question shy of 170) and my Academic Summary lists my Degree GPA as 3.90 and my Cumulative GPA as 3.94 (I transferred to Penn undergrad for my junior and senior year).

I work as a para for a Big Law firm now and have a MS from the Journalism School at Columbia (NY), which I hope are pretty strong softs.

Would be interested to hear what everyone thinks my chances are for the aforementioned schools. Also thinking about NYU, but would preferto be out of New York for law school. Any application strategies are very welcome.

Thanks!

rad lulz

Re: Chances for Penn, Duke, UVA, Stanford?

Postby rad lulz » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:23 pm

Softs are mediocre.

lawschoolnumbers.com; read the sticky in this forum.

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:32 pm

A http://www.lawschoolnumbers.com poster, non-URM with a 169/3.9 & one to two years out of college had these results:

Stanford--in & will attend.
Georgetown--in.
UCal-Berkeley--in.
Duke--in.
NYU--in.
Michigan--in.

Harvard--waitlist.
Penn--waitlist.
Columbia--waitlist.

Your work experience & Master's Degree in Journalism from Columbia should help with Harvard & Columbia. Stanford is hard to predict, but you should do quite well next application cycle since apps to law schools are expected to decline further.
Last edited by CanadianWolf on Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Law Sauce

Postby Law Sauce » Tue Jul 24, 2012 12:34 pm