3.69/176 (166 first time)

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
shs2012

3.69/176 (166 first time)

Postby shs2012 » Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:17 pm

Hey all,

I've already perused lawschoolnumbers.com, so I have some idea of my chances, but I wanted to see if anyone with some more experience with the admissions process (either personally or anecdotally) wouldn't mind taking a stab at a few questions... I only recently decided that I wanted to go to law school (hence my first 166 LSAT score, which I took after an idiotically minimal amount of preparation), so I'm relatively new to this whole deal.

1- chances at Columbia/Chicago/NYU?
2- chances at money from any schools in the lower 14? Or at NYU? I'm assuming money at Columbia or Chicago would never happen because of my GPA.
3- I keep hearing very conflicting things about how my first LSAT score will be counted- based on what a few friends have told me, it seems that it will matter little since I'm not applying to Yale or Stanford.
4- worth an application to Harvard, or is that a complete waste of money? Especially if they average my LSAT scores.

I have 2 (3 when I'll begin school) years of work experience in economic research at a federal agency, worked through college, clubs/leadership positions/campaign work, research assistantships, etc, but I'm not a Rhodes scholar and haven't cured cancer, so I assume I'm just like the majority of law school applicants, for whatever that's worth. I also do plan on turning in my applications at the beginning of the cycle- mid-October at latest.

Thanks!

jkpolk

Re: 3.69/176 (166 first time)

Postby jkpolk » Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:21 pm

Definitely apply to H. I think you'll get some money at each CCN- big money lower

thsmthcrmnl

Postby thsmthcrmnl » Wed Jul 18, 2012 2:25 pm