Looking for law schools to apply to

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
jzabl001

Looking for law schools to apply to

Postby jzabl001 » Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:18 pm

Been out of school working for about a year and just started prepping for the LSAT in October last week. Scored a 146 on my first diagnostic (which sucks) but my instructor seems to think my target score of somewhere between 155-160 is attainable. I have an undergraduate degree from U of Miami and a masters in business as well that I got right after. GPAs from both are 3.0 and 3.1 respectively. I'm from Florida so I'm planning on applying to Miami (50/50 shot?), FIU (good chance), UF (reach), FSU (reach), and probably Nova and St. Thomas as safeties. I also really like Northeastern in Boston because of the co-op program but I probably need more to schools to apply to. I'd like to practice transactional/business law given my background so based on my projected stats, what are some relevant schools to look at? TIA

PinkCow

Re: Looking for law schools to apply to

Postby PinkCow » Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:24 pm

Are you sure you want to practice law. Your GPA + predicted LSAT will not open up any big opportunities that your MBA does not already cover.

CanadianWolf

Postby CanadianWolf » Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:27 pm

OP: Your post is a bit premature; you need an actual LSAT score. Nevertheless, your undergraduate GPA will make admission to most Tier One (top 50) law schools difficult unless accompanied by an LSAT score in, at least, the mid-160s.

top30man

Postby top30man » Tue Jul 17, 2012 6:38 pm

PinkCow wrote:Are you sure you want to practice law. Your GPA + predicted LSAT will not open up any big opportunities that your MBA does not already cover.