Very non-traditional

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
jmjm

Very non-traditional

Postby jmjm » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:31 am

I am an engineer in my mid 30s with a master's degree in computer engineering from a 10-20 USN rank program and a bachelor's in engineering from a reputable top international program. I work with one of the largest american semiconductor companies as a senior engineer and have worked with a few semiconductor companies during the last 10 years in the profession.

Do I have any shot at top law (jd) programs, or is my gpa/age factor can't be compensated for with a high lsat?

Stats: UG gpa: 3.2/4 (top 30% of the class) MS gpa: 3.5, gmat 730, International

ze2151

Re: Very non-traditional

Postby ze2151 » Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:42 am

sweet lord, why on earth do you want to go to law school?

i hope you're a troll. if you're serious, i don't understand.

that said, i know of one school that is willing to accept students based on gmat scores....

hooray, rutgers-camden! looks like you may have found another student. actually, op, i bet if you apply right now, you'd get accepted.

jmjm

Postby jmjm » Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:05 am

I'm not looking for a school that accepts gmat as I plan to take lsat. Sorry if it was confusing in my original post. Yes it was a serious post. I guess that makes me a non traditional career switcher.

El_Sol

Postby El_Sol » Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:27 am

Why would he be a troll? ... If his career is not fulfilling, why not switch? Life is short. Obviously, it all depends on which schools he gets into, but if he scores 170+ and attends at a T-14 splitter friendly school, I don't see why it would be a wrong decision.

Come back with an LSAT score and people will be able to give you better advice though.

Nova

Postby Nova » Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:08 pm

A high LSAT, 170+, will give you a shot at GULC, NU, and UVA.