URM with 174, HYS?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
logophilous

URM with 174, HYS?

Postby logophilous » Fri Jun 29, 2012 6:47 pm

I'm an AA who spent the first two years at lib arts collage with a 3.43 GPA. Left there, spent a year at a large public school and came out with a 2.3 GPA including a couple of F's. I've gotten the LSAT score and am now trying to decide what are my chances for HYS.

Weak on softs and zero work experience over the course of 5 years.

Suggestions???
Last edited by logophilous on Sun Jul 01, 2012 1:36 am, edited 1 time in total.

dixon02

Re: URM with 174, HYS?

Postby dixon02 » Fri Jun 29, 2012 7:24 pm

logophilous wrote:I'm a nontraditional student, AA female who spent the first three years at a little ivy with a 3.43 GPA. Left there, spent a year at a large public school and came out with a 2.3 GPA including a couple of F's and a lot of withdrawals. I've gotten the LSAT score and am now trying to decide whether to finish at the liberal arts college or go back to the large public and pay attention this time. The former would have me aiming for a 2014 start, the latter 2013.

Weak on softs, with the exception of a fellowship at the first school, and zero work experience over the course of 5 years. The LSAT score is however typical; I test well.

Suggestions???

Wait, so what is your overall GPA? Seems confusing.

Your cycle is going to be impossible to predict as a splitter URM. With weak softs and the various blips, Yale seems unlikely. After that, it's really hard to say. I would think you'd have at least a fighting chance everywhere else.

Postby 2014 » Sat Jun 30, 2012 2:02 pm