Mechanical Engineer looking to get into Night Law School

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
td217

Mechanical Engineer looking to get into Night Law School

Postby td217 » Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:33 pm

Hi, I'm new to this forum and would like to briefly discuss my background and see what you all think about my chances for getting into a good night law program.

I live in the NYC area, so I'm particularly interested in my chances to get into Yeshiva or Brooklyn Law. I just took my first blind practice LSAT last night, so I am awaiting my score for that.

I have Bachelor's Degree's in Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mathematics in Statistics. The Mechanical Engineering G.P.A is 3.1/4.0 and the A.M.S G.P.A is 2.7/4.0 :oops:

I have a Master's Degree in Mechanical Engineering (specializing in Energy Technology). My G.P.A for that is 3.6/4.0.

In addition to the degrees I have some engineering work experience. Also, I would be at least 29 years old by the time I apply. Not sure how age factors in..

First, I'd like to know what LSAT score I would need to have a chance at the top night law programs in New York, or throughout the country. By the time I apply to the law school I hope to have passed the Patent Bar exam and preferably found a position with a patent firm that will support law school. Thus, I am interested in schools with good patent law programs.

I guess the key here, what can I do to overcome the relatively low undergraduate G.P.A's.

If there is any other advice, suggestions, or experience you can share, I am all ears.

Thank You.

Dr. Review

Re: Mechanical Engineer looking to get into Night Law School

Postby Dr. Review » Thu Jun 14, 2012 6:41 pm