Should I even bother?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
UltraNonTraditional

Should I even bother?

Postby UltraNonTraditional » Fri May 25, 2012 12:36 pm

I'm not so much asking what my chances are, but whether I should even bother to apply. Glad to give more info, if requested, but this is the part that troubles me.

I'm an older student. Screwed up at undergrad in a major way, alternating between failing everything and getting straight As and A-s depending on the semester. I dropped out with a 2.6 over 10 years ago. Since I had relocated, I transferred 60 credits to another school, and am finishing up now with a hard-earned 4.0 (assuming I get As in my last 3 classes, which I expect to). I was pretty crushed to learn about the LSAC GPA, which pretty much nullifies my 4.0.

I just did the LSAC calculator and entered all my grades from my former life and now, and it came out to a horrific 2.51. I'm no dummy, nor am I a slacker. I just didn't take undergrad seriously when I was younger and had a lot of family issues distracting me. Since returning to complete UG, I've earned straight As. I'm capable; just screwed up years ago.

I haven't taken the LSAT yet (planning for October and possible retake in December), but should I even bother? With that GPA, what kind of score would I need to even be considered in a decent school? Oh, and FWIW, I'm AA female URM.

Systematic1

Re: Should I even bother?

Postby Systematic1 » Fri May 25, 2012 12:39 pm

UltraNonTraditional wrote:With that GPA, what kind of score would I need to even be considered in a decent school?

Depends on what you consider a decent school.

jurisx

Postby jurisx » Fri May 25, 2012 12:43 pm

The lsac will view your cumulative gpa, but with the final gpa being a 4.0 (which looks good on applications as your BA gpa) your cumulative should still be decent.