chances at UConn - high(ish) LSAT, low GPA

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
twostep08

chances at UConn - high(ish) LSAT, low GPA

Postby twostep08 » Wed May 23, 2012 12:15 pm

took the LSAT my junior year and got a 161 without studying. I'm a biomedical engineering major at UConn (which I'm hoping helps that I went to UConn for undergrad?), and I have 3.0 GPA (like a 2.97 if it really makes a difference). Now to be honest, I certainly could've tried harder, but my major is super hard to begin with and since I changed majors there were some semesters where I took an insane amount of credits. Also I have a minor in materials science & engineering. as for work experience, since i'm coming from a science background and recently decided id rather do law, i don't really have anything relevant. i did lab research for a semester. also, i reffed on campus for 3 years (and was promoted), and i recently got certified to ref high school football. i also tutored math at a nearby highschool for a semester my freshman year.

now my LSAT is in line for UConn obviously.. i should probably crack down studying and take it again though? as for my GPA, it is low, but will they recognize that i took a difficult major? i know for a fact i could easily have gotten good grades in anything else - i was on the dean's list the semester before i switched to engineering, and i've aced most of my electives without going to a single class. additionally, i dont know if it'll help, but since i switched in late, i took many of my classes without the proper prereq's (idk if there's a spot on the application for that) so maybe they'll look kindly upon that?