Do I have a shot at SLS?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
dallas6778

Do I have a shot at SLS?

Postby dallas6778 » Wed May 02, 2012 7:03 pm

Hello all at TLS,
I've been planning on law school for a while now, and just recently a mentor of mine suggested I set my sights a little higher, such as Stanford. Now, I had been planning for a top 20 school, and hadnt really considered HYS a possibility until now. I'm looking at an 3.85-3.88 GPA but I'm studying biochemistry. However, my undergraduate school is medium sized regional institution. I understand law school arent too biased regarding UG study, but my school is not the top public school in my state, or even the second or third. Will this hurt me? I havent taken the LSATs yet and am wondering what I need to shoot for. I am not a URM. My softs are:
1) Military- honorably discharged for medical condition after about a year, but in a special program pipeline with leadership role until then
2) CASA volunteer- court appointed special advocate for children in foster homes
3) Research- have put in lots of time in the university's biochem lab both for credit and volunteer
4) Work experience- I've worked non-stop to support myself since i was 16, with many impressive jobs and positions for my age
What do you guys think? Will it be worth it to apply if I crush the LSAT, or is my dinky undergraduate school not good enough for SLS?
Thanks in advance!

Paul Allen

Re: Do I have a shot at SLS?

Postby Paul Allen » Wed May 02, 2012 7:06 pm

If we say "no" then are you not going to apply? Just put together the best application and hit "submit."

kaiser

Postby kaiser » Wed May 02, 2012 7:11 pm

1. We couldn't possibly tell you if you have a shot at Stanford unless you have an actual LSAT score