Graduate Student/Splitter New York Schools

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
RainMan

Graduate Student/Splitter New York Schools

Postby RainMan » Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:28 pm

I graduated in last may in 2011 with a 2.25 GPA for reasons that I would not be able to fully explain in an addendum (I changed majors and tried to transfer). I currently a Media and Communications graduate student with a 3.5 GPA and will graduate in December. I scored a 170 on the LSAT. I really want to go to law school in New York but I think my GPA will prevent me. I have letters of recommendation from a U Chicago teaching graduate and a New York judge ( I am pursuing a third). I also have done volunteer work for a hospice. Any personal statement recommendations? Thank you for any help in advance...

Schools I am looking at:
Touro
Syracuse
New York Law
St. John's (Legacy)
Hofstra

8)
Last edited by RainMan on Mon Apr 09, 2012 4:38 pm, edited 3 times in total.

MrPapagiorgio

Re: What are my chances as a graduate student??

Postby MrPapagiorgio » Mon Apr 09, 2012 3:32 pm

Grad school GPAs are not calculated in the LSDAS GPA, so most schools do not give them much weight. They will have to report the 2.25, not the 3.5, which would be detrimental to their 25-75/median stats. You've got plenty of time to retake the LSAT for next cycle, and if you score 175+, you've got a better chance at some splitter-friendly schools (though maybe not in NY).

DTDT

Re: Graduate Student/Splitter New York Schools

Postby DTDT » Tue Apr 10, 2012 1:19 pm

You should get in those schools you listed based on your LSAT even with a shitty GPA.

Postby 2014 » Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:01 am

flem wrote:
DTDT wrote:You should get in those schools you listed based on your LSAT even with a shitty GPA.

That doesn't mean you should go there bruh.