What are my chances? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Jchan

New

What are my chances?

Post by Jchan » Mon Apr 09, 2012 7:54 am

Hi,

Ive been out of school for 1 year,(working full time if that helps), with a 2.6 undergrad gpa and am scoring in the low 170s.
Im still very new to the idea of law school so forgive me, i really dont know much. I live in NY and am def. Willing to relocate to get in to a better law school if i have to. I guess my strategy thus far is to figure out what chances of getting in where and apply to all. Any tips and advice? Also, any idea if i may even get scholarships with such a low gpa? Any help is appreciated, thanks in advance!

soj

Platinum

Re: What are my chances?

Post by soj » Mon Apr 09, 2012 1:19 pm

Low 170s is a good sign, but try to do even better. Read this article on how to have a successful splitter cycle. You're probably not going to get a lot of money anywhere, but WUSTL and Illinois are known to be generous to splitters. Northwestern and maybe Georgetown are probably your only realistic T14 options, but you won't get much money from them.

Jchan

New

Post by Jchan » Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:43 am

Thanks for your input!
Yea, I've looked on the law school predictor plenty of times myself. the "DENY" shows up much less when I increase the lsat score even 1 or 2 points. Hopefully I will be able to bring my score up by the time I take it! Do you think if I scored higher on the lsat I would then get some money? :?

Samara

Gold

Post by Samara » Thu Apr 12, 2012 9:47 am

Jchan wrote:Thanks for your input!
Yea, I've looked on the law school predictor plenty of times myself. the "DENY" shows up much less when I increase the lsat score even 1 or 2 points. Hopefully I will be able to bring my score up by the time I take it! Do you think if I scored higher on the lsat I would then get some money? :?