Advice for working professional applying to IP Law Program Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
misskat

New

Advice for working professional applying to IP Law Program

Post by misskat » Wed Apr 04, 2012 2:05 pm

I'm trying to figure out my chances on admission into the University of San Diego part time Law Program.

My Background: I'm a medicinal chemist working in early stage drug development. I finished a Bachelor's in Chemistry in 2003 with a relatively low GPA (2.9). I then worked for two years as a polymer chemist for a company involved in the development of medical devices. In 2006, I went back to school and completed a Ms in Organic Chemistry (GPA 3.34). Since 2009, I've been working as a medicinal chemist at a research institute.

For about a year now, I've been thinking about getting into IP Law. I think my background would make me well suited for working in the drug patent, or even medical device patent sector. I have authored 2 papers and been a contributing author on 3 more, but I don't have any patents as of yet. Because I work in academia, I probably will not be working on getting any patents in the foreseeable future. I work and live in the San Diego area, and was looking at the University of San Diego Law School... specifically their part time law program. I have yet to take the LSAT's (will be doing that in June), but assuming that I do decently enough on my LSATs (low 160's), what are my chances of getting into this law program. From what I've read, your undergraduate GPA is extremely important. The median GPA of the incoming class of 2011 at USD was 3.34 (well above my undergraduate GPA).

Is it worthwhile even applying? Will my low undergrad GPA kill my chances in getting into this program? How heavily will admissions factor in my graduate school degree/GPA and work experience? Any advice/input will be greatly appreciated.

LOLyer

Bronze