Disciplinary Record. Is it even worth applying?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
badapple

Disciplinary Record. Is it even worth applying?

Postby badapple » Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:14 pm

I am thinking about applying to law school, but I have a pretty nasty disciplinary record and don't want to waste my time or money if I don't have a chance.

I'm Hispanic. I have a UGPA of 3.98 (Philosophy Major, Polisci minor) from large University. I have a Masters in Philosophy with a GPA of 3.7, and am currently finishing a Masters in English and have a 4.0. My practice LSAT scores are hovering between 168 and 170. I expect I can bring this number up if I get some prep books, or take a course.

I really only want to apply to top 15 programs with a few 'safeties' in the top 35. I don't want to risk the job market without a degree from a top 35 program.

The bad: I had to write and defend a thesis for my Masters, and a few days before my defense a professor on my defense committee dropped out. I was given no notice, no warning, it came as a complete shock. None of the other committee members saw it coming either. The professor believed that I was ignoring comments on earlier drafts of the paper. (From my perspective, this professor had been slacking. I wasn't receiving comments, and couldn't get in contact with the professor.) This meant I wouldn't be able to graduate on time and I didn't have funding for the next semester. I would have to pay out of pocket to take unsubsidized courses (even though I'd completed my course work) in order to defend and graduate. I was pissed.

After receiving the prof's email, I lost my cool and sent an email of my own. I was angry, and I used profanity. I didn't call the prof names but I did drop four F bombs.

I was charged with 1) creating a distraction in the department, 2) harassing/ intimidating a faculty member, 3) and abusing university email privileges.