In need of advice: 2.9/154 Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
lux

New

In need of advice: 2.9/154

Post by lux » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:47 am

To explain my gpa, I attended 2 unis for UG. At the first uni, I fucked up pretty bad and left there with a 1.0 GPA. I then took a couple of years off to work and returned to school. I graduated with a 3.8 GPA from that uni. I wrote all of this in my C+F and other forms while filling out apps in late feb (super late).

I'm rather new to this forum as you can see by my post count. I found this site pretty randomly but I've been glued to this site for the past few days. After reading a lot of these posts, though, I'm starting to feel extremely discouraged, especially with my low LSAT score. I've surmised that the general rule, when in doubt, is to retake and reapply next cycle. I even saw some great LSAT preparation schedules to follow. My question here is if I retake in June, will it have any impact on my current cycle at all?

Finally, what are my options here? I spent like a month writing my personal statement as I heard that it was the most important aspect of one's application after GPA/LSAT. This delayed my application process by a lot. After browsing these forums, I came to realize that PS is almost negligible. TT.TT

Should I retake and reapply next cycle?
With what LSAT score can i realistically hope to have a shot at being accepted into a T-14/20?
Does it even matter with my GPA?
Will schools even notice the upward trend in GPA?

Thanks.

Onthebrink

Bronze

Re: In need of advice: 2.9/154

Post by Onthebrink » Mon Mar 05, 2012 1:56 am

Definitely retake and apply next cycle. I couldn't speculate as to the shot at a t-14, greater TLS minds than me should be able to do that.

minnbills

Gold

Post by minnbills » Mon Mar 05, 2012 2:02 am

Definitely retake.

T14 is not out of reach with a 2.9, but you will need a 170+.

BEAST_mode