Universities in Canada, What are my chances?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Canadianboy

Universities in Canada, What are my chances?

Postby Canadianboy » Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:01 am

Hi Guys,

A Canadian here wondering if you could help a fella out. Well I have noooo idea if have a shot in getting into a University in Canada. I'm applied to nearly every school in Canada. Right now, after taking crappy grades off my GPA (like 4 course), I have a GPA of 3.63 on a 4.33 scale. I hear Ontario is on a 4.5 scale...potentially bringing my score up...maybe??? Also, in my last two years I received a, 3.44, 3,54, 4.13, and 4.00 averaging to 3.78. I have tons of work experience (Co-op complete), got a in-course scholarship, did two independent studies....etc....I believe I wrote a killer personal statement (I'm a great writer). However.....I have had a hard time increasing my LSAT score above 155....maybe this Saturday a miracle will come and I'll get 160....but nevertheless I score between 145 - 155....potentially 140 if I suck reallly bad. I had the chance to read some stuff...but is it true Canada weighs the LSAT less?

At any rate...I was wondering with such a GPA or extra stuff...would a 150, or (maybe?) 155 suffice to get into a law school in Ontario....or perhaps UBC....just wondering cause I'm curious and I hear Ontario takes a holistic approach. Thanks for reading this guys! Wish me luck on Saturday, and same to you folks who are taking it. :) :)

crys1925

Postby crys1925 » Fri Nov 30, 2007 11:54 am

Since there are significantly less law schools in Canada, the competition is much more extreme. I got a 163 on the LSAT and I didn't bother applying to UofT or Osgoode because I didn't feel that I had good chances.