3.8GPA/HarvardPhD - what LSAT?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
cenparis98

3.8GPA/HarvardPhD - what LSAT?

Postby cenparis98 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:28 am

Hoping for help from a knowledgeable person.

I'm applying for law school a little late in life (39y.o.). I have strong GPAs (undergrad and grad both about 3.8) and a fairly strong legal background for someone not actually employed in the field (I taught law classes while in graduate school at Harvard, where I finished a PhD in political science).

Anyone know how law schools generally look at an application from an old timer like me? Is the LSAT less important for someone who has a PhD in a law-related field, or does that not matter at all? It's not that I don't intend to study for the LSAT, I'm just curious to know how my background might affect how they look at my application.

I live in Northern California, and relocation isn't really an option. It's got to be commuting distance from San Jose. I may be forced by life circumstances to enroll in a part-time program, which would limit my choices to USF or Santa Clara, but I know some people would advise me to go full-time to a stronger program, assuming I got in.

Grateful for whatever help you can provide. Thanks,

cenparis98

bernaldiaz

Re: 3.8GPA/HarvardPhD - what LSAT?

Postby bernaldiaz » Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:31 am

Don't go to Santa Clara or USF if you have a PHD from Harvard. It really can't help.

Grizz

Postby Grizz » Mon Feb 06, 2012 2:36 am

Ya don't go to USF or Santa Clara due to bad job prospects bro

romothesavior

Postby romothesavior » Mon Feb 06, 2012 4:27 am

Why do you want to go? What are you looking to do with your degree? These are important preliminary questions for you to answer in order to chart your course of action.

cenparis98

Postby cenparis98 » Mon Feb 06, 2012 9:56 am