3.2 LSAC GPA - T50 schools for IP?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
SciDoc

3.2 LSAC GPA - T50 schools for IP?

Postby SciDoc » Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:13 pm

Hi, I have been perusing these boards for some time and all the advice I have read has been tremendously valuable...so I am hoping to get a bit of advice you guys about the schools I should consider.

A bit of background:

Went to a "public ivy" (whatever that means!), basically a UC school. Did quite bad my first two years related to some personal family issues beyond my control. I ended up with around a 2.51GPA. My last two years things got better and I raised my cumulative GPA to a 3.46. Doing the math you can rightly guess that I got mostly A's the last two years in advanced classes. I got my degree in Biochemistry and a second bachelors in Sociology (4.0 GPA). My last 60 credits of college I had a 3.9 GPA and ended up being accepted to one of the Top 10 Bio Ph.D programs in the country. DId quite well there with publications and fellowships etc. etc. During my last year before my thesis defense, I decided that I wanted to pursue a career in IP. I had everything decided, but after extreme pressure from my advisor, peers, colleagues and family members, I ended up accepting a position at Harvard as a postdoc. Not a bad deal if I wanted to pursue a career in industry or academia. I have done quite well here with a first author publication in Cell, fellowships and grants....DESPITE all this, I do not want to be doing this or following an academic path. My heart is set on IP. For the record I don't regret my decision to do a postdoc since it is a once in a lifetime opportunity. I do wish that graduate school departments were more proactive in helping students with career choices/paths - something that was severely lacking at my school.