Super low stats--any chance at a good school? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
cassie2012

New

Super low stats--any chance at a good school?

Post by cassie2012 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 6:57 pm

My GPA is 3.2 and my LSAT is 156. I know, pretty bad. BUT I have some very strong recommendation letters and evaluations. I also have a ton of on campus involvement with extracurriculars, including starting one organization and being on the academic senate. I also have a ton of sob story to write about, I'm a single mom of 2 young kids and started out as a teen mom, I was hospitalized for several months during my sophomore year, etc etc. And I am graduating on time in 4 years with a minor (political science-public administration) and certificate (child maltreatment & family violence). My major is Social Work and I have a lot of volunteer experience, and i've also worked full time through all 4 yrs. I want to work in Family Law/Dependency Court, so I feel that SW is actually a really good foundation. I'm writing an addendum for economically disadvantaged household because I was homeless for several years growing up, and I'm also writing one for the "does your transcript represent you" question, because I have almost all As and Bs, and then a couple classes that bring everything down. Taking into account everything besides GPA and LSAT, do I have a shot in hell at UCLA or USC? (I live in LA and do not want to move) I am still applying no matter what y'all say, but what am I looking at, a 10% chance, 25%...0%? thanks :)

ConfidenceMan2

New

Re: Super low stats--any chance at a good school?

Post by ConfidenceMan2 » Wed Jan 18, 2012 7:10 pm