159/2.98... but I've got a rather... different... soft:

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Archoholic

159/2.98... but I've got a rather... different... soft:

Postby Archoholic » Tue Jan 17, 2012 12:52 am

I'm a licensed architect, with eleven years work experience and a Master's of Architecture degree.

Yes, I know I'm not a unique snowflake, but I'm too curious about TLS forum members' opinions to not post. FWIW, I checked LSN and didn't find any architecture grads in that database. The working lawyers I've spoken with think the architecture angle is worth a bump in terms of admissions, but they're also architects, and older (i.e. somewhat separated from the application process), so I'm taking their opinions with a grain of salt.

I'm looking at schools in the 20-60 range: Wisconsin, Minnesota, Illinois, Indiana, SMU, Baylor, UConn, Arizona, ASU, Oregon, Washington, among others. I have a family, so moving for a 60+ school isn't happening. T50 or bust.

What say you, folks? Am I screwed for a decent school, or do I have a shot? I'd rather be shot down here than at the mailbox.
Last edited by Archoholic on Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

ThomasMN

Re: 159/2.98... but I've got a rather... different... soft:

Postby ThomasMN » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:02 am

First I have to ask, why law?

That being said, with your UGPA you should most certainly hit the books for the LSAT hardcore and at a minimum get something in the mid 160s. Otherwise you are probably not looking pretty for anything tier one.

Archoholic

Postby Archoholic » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:24 am

ThomasMN wrote:First I have to ask, why law?

That being said, with your UGPA you should most certainly hit the books for the LSAT hardcore and at a minimum get something in the mid 160s. Otherwise you are probably not looking pretty for anything tier one.