Low GPA, Super High LSAT, Unusual Circumstances

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
RonEffingSwanson

Low GPA, Super High LSAT, Unusual Circumstances

Postby RonEffingSwanson » Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:59 pm

I attend VCU. As a freshman I entered already haven been given credit for 30 hours due to extensive AP credits during high school. I've just finished my third semester here, but thanks to the credits I came in with plan to graduate after only taking three more (total of 3 years for undergrad). I have not taken the LSAT yet, but plan to take it this coming summer so that I can apply to law school after I finish next year's fall semester. That being said, the LSAT will not be an issue for me (to avoid sounding arrogant, haha). I can honestly say that a score of 175-180 is not exactly unexpected.

Now the troublesome part. Due to completing my undergrad in 3 years, I will not have an extra year to buffer my GPA, which hasn't exactly busted out of the gates strongly. I will have roughly a 2.8 after the three semesters I've taken. However, this is in large part (pretty much exclusively) due to having debilitating OCD. After having recently begun to really work at it, I'm confident that starting this Spring semester I'll be able to breeze through classes with a 4.0 until the point of graduation. This would likely leave my cumulative GPA at around a 3.6-3.7 at graduation, but if the last semester's grades aren't in by the time students are admitted it will be closer to a 3.4.

Overall, key points are:

- Will graduate in 3 years, age 20-21 at time of application (21 when entering school)
- GPA of 3.4 or 3.6-3.7 (I don't know if law schools count final semester grades for admission. I don't plan on doing ED, so would they be a factor?)
- Substantial upward trend in GPA due to well documented OCD
- 175+ LSAT