Chances at Texas Tech?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
thedude1982

Chances at Texas Tech?

Postby thedude1982 » Mon Nov 21, 2011 7:17 pm

Hello all,

What my chances are of being admitted to Texas Tech School of Law? My G.P.A is 3.8 from a south Texas university which has a history of educating lower income minorities. I am a Mexican-American Iraq war veteran (14 months in support of OIF), and former federal employee (I resigned from my job even though it paid a decent salary, because I realized that I wanted to become an attorney). I will be graduating this December with a Bachelors Degree in History, and I have received high marks from my professors for being an excellent student (in my opinion, I was given very strong letters of recommendation by my professors). However, the one black stain on my record (and it is HUGE) is that I received a 147 on my LSAT! According to law school predictor, I have a 61% chance of being admitted and the textual prediction reads "consider" I do have a record of doing poorly on standardized tests, I took the ACT when I got out of the Army and my score was horrible. My ACT score sheet recommended that I take remedial courses, and basically stated that I wasn't ready for college level courses. Yet, as I stated before, I did very well in college despite these predictions (and without taking any remedial courses either). My personal statement focused on: my mother losing her battle to cancer when I was a child, growing up poor in south Texas, being expected to help raise siblings since I was the eldest in a single parent home,my time deployed to Iraq, and the time I spent as a Federal employee (where I realized I wanted to be an attorney). I received a waiver from Texas Tech, and although I have applied to a few other law schools, Texas Tech is where I really want to go. So what do you all think? Any chance? Thanks.

kalvano