173/3.4/white male

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
mwaha

173/3.4/white male

Postby mwaha » Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:50 am

I'm looking at programs with joint JD/MLS (Master's of Library Science) programs, so that means I'm gunning for (roughly in this order of preference):

Michigan
Illinois
UNC
Texas
UCLA
Indiana-Bloomington
Syracuse
Rutgers

Softs: Master's degree in English, a handful of scholarly talks given at national and international research conferences, a few journal articles that are currently under review at major research journals, editorial assistant at a scholarly journal (I figure this would be a big one, because the skills would transfer immediately to law review). My undergrad GPA is as low as it is because (1) I was rather severely depressed, and I only got it under control with antidepressants after I graduated, and (2) I kinda dicked a round a lot and didn't care about school as much as I did now.

I'm pretty sure I can get into the schools on the bottom of that list. I'm mostly worried about from UCLA up. I know that, at most schools, joint JD/MLS tends to be a minuscule program (at Michigan, it's a four year program and they currently have five people in it total), so I figure it'll really help my chances to say in my PS: "this small program that almost no one does, that's a perfect fit for me."

Thoughts on chances? And advice on addendum writing?

mwaha

Re: 173/3.4/white male

Postby mwaha » Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:08 am

Nothin? oh well

TheFriendlyBarber

Postby TheFriendlyBarber » Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:12 am

mwaha wrote:Nothin? oh well

Don't be so damn inpatient. It's only been 18 minutes . . .

mwaha

Postby mwaha » Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:13 am

TheFriendlyBarber wrote:
mwaha wrote:Nothin? oh well

Don't be so damn inpatient. It's only been 18 minutes . . .

Lol. You're right. I guess I'm still getting the October waiting thread out of my system.