Unique situation

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
weso1

Unique situation

Postby weso1 » Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:16 am

Hi all, I just found this forum and I have an issue.

I'm 27 and just starting to consider law school. Late start for sure, but I'll explain why.

I graduated undergrad on time with a 3.3 (not great, but my class schedule was 40hrs a week and I finished my BA in record time.)

After school, I went to (and still am) in South Korea where I teach English. I've taught underprivileged kids and also at one of the top private schools in the country here. It's been awesome really. I've also done some major volunteer work. Nearly 100hrs logged while getting my BA and another 200hrs here in Korea helping North Korean refugees. I think this summer or next I'll go to Africa and help build a school or hospital for a month. I just think there is so much to do in this world, if everyone helps a little, a lot can change.

So, I haven't even taken a LSAT pt. If I took a guess, maybe after a few weeks or months of studying I could get in the mid or upper 160s?

Oh, and once I do return home I plan on joining the Army National Guard. Military service is a bit of a family tradition, so it's kind of expected. But I'm actually happy to carry on this for a our family.

So with my modest GPA (3.3) and maybe a pretty good LSAT, what do you think my chances of getting into a T14 school would be? Honestly, I just really want to go to Georgetown. Politics and American history is my thing. So to study in the nation's capital would be a dream come true. I guess it's good that I've read Georgetown places more focus on an applicant's character than some other schools do.

Any advice (or constructive criticism) would be appreciated.

Thanks everyone. Have a nice day.

Heartford

Re: Unique situation

Postby Heartford » Wed Aug 24, 2011 7:25 am