long strange trip, advice

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Fareastside

long strange trip, advice

Postby Fareastside » Tue Jul 26, 2011 11:14 am

Long and lame, not looking at t-20, would love UW Madison or U of AZ. Looking at CO and U-Denver, too. Before any of the T-14 or nothing trolls answer, I don't care about that. I want to be criminal defense attorney, im not above 10 years in a public defenders office. Im not looking to be a wall street counsel.

My concern is this. I went to college in 98, was kicked out for a unique attendance policy, and joined the marines. Was kicked out of the marines in 2002 for smoking weed and given an oth discharge. Was forced to go to a two year UW( WI) outreach campus before getting my scores high enough to transfer to St. Norbert College. I graduated SNC with a 3.4 cum after 6 semesters. My lsac adjusted for this 8 year cluster fk is about 2.55. Madison has said they don't htink they'll care about the other grades since they were so long ago, they prefer the upward trend that my last 4 years would show. Is this common admissions thinking?

I am 5 years out of st norbert college now, I have worked teaching ESL, primarily in China and Korea, during that time, and will take the December LSAT. I've only taken about 6 practice tests and am scoring around 162 on avg. I hope to get up to a 165 or better by the time I take the real one.

What are my chances at some of these schools, and in terms of Rank on US News lists, would you say I'm looking in the right places or am I to be forever relegated to the third and fourth tier toilets? Madison says they couldn't care less about my marine stuff, they just want a good LSAT. Any advice for a groundling with these credentials?