174/no gpa

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
mjitbswyd

174/no gpa

Postby mjitbswyd » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:50 pm

I graduated from a prestigious foreign college, but with a "B+ average" or "above average" grades according to LSAC.

Then I graduated from a MVP llm program and got 5 As and 1 A+ on all 6 graded courses. I also have 3 recommendations from my US law school professors who know me very well (senior writing advisors on 3 diffrent topics). My other softs are also strong.

I took 1 lsat and got 174.

thank you!

bdubs

Re: 174/no gpa

Postby bdubs » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:51 pm

why are you getting a JD when you already did well in a respected LLM program?

mjitbswyd

Postby mjitbswyd » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:53 pm

bdubs wrote:why are you getting a JD when you already did well in a respected LLM program?

Want to do a JD/PHD joint and go to academic.

bdubs

Postby bdubs » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:54 pm

What kind of PhD? I think you should be more concerned about where you can get into a JD/PhD program, rather than just the JD component.

piccolittle

Postby piccolittle » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:56 pm

I would say you have a very good chance at all schools except HYS. The top three haven't seemed to take many foreign students in the past unless they have a transcript rated 'Superior' by LSAC. However, that's not to say you'd be wasting an application - your LLM success may distinguish you in a sea of US undergraduates, and your LSAT puts you near the 75% for all of them.

mjitbswyd

Postby mjitbswyd » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:25 pm

bdubs wrote:What kind of PhD? I think you should be more concerned about where you can get into a JD/PhD program, rather than just the JD component.

That's fine. I will apply for phd in diffrent schools if the ls does not offer joint degree.

mjitbswyd

Postby mjitbswyd » Wed Jul 13, 2011 11:27 pm