3.4, 170, Any chances at T14? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
thisiswater

Silver

3.4, 170, Any chances at T14?

Post by thisiswater » Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:09 pm

As it says, my LSAC GPA is a 3.41, and my LSAT is 166/170. Mediocre softs, some work experience, okay LoRs, and I can probably crank out a decent essay or two.
Current plan is to apply to:
Texas (I'm a texas resident)
SMU
Tulane
Vandy

I'm debating Duke, Georgetown, UVA, Cornell, basically the 8-14 of the T14. And probably I need to fill in a few more true matches for my numbers.

I am hoping to get most of the application stuff done before the end of July. I leave on the July 29th and won't be back in the states until the end of September so I really want to be ready to apply as soon as I get back. That's still going to get me much of the benefit of applying early right?

Okay, I guess I'm looking for thoughts on my chances of getting in/$$$$ at these schools, plus other good choices for places to apply.

beachbum

Gold

Re: 3.4, 170, Any chances at T14?

Post by beachbum » Wed Jul 06, 2011 9:28 pm

Apply MVP through WUSTL, and throw in a couple safeties that match up with your regional preferences. FWIW, your best bet into the T14 is with an ED, which would make all of MVPDNG fair game. Otherwise, prepare to ride a lot of WLs.

On your short list, you'll probably get into Vandy (do the interview), and you have a decent shot at Texas. The other two are safeties.

<--- 170/3.4x, accepted to Duke (ED), Vandy, W&M. Waitlisted at UVA, ND, Illinois, Minn.

TheFactor

Silver

Post by TheFactor » Thu Jul 07, 2011 12:14 am

Start by removing SMU and Tulane from consideration.

Then do this.