Watch me do the splits

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
ImTheWiz

Watch me do the splits

Postby ImTheWiz » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:24 pm

Hey everybody, long time lurker. Kind of addicted to TLS.

3.27, 174

Actually PTed a little higher than that, so open for a retake if a couple more points would drastically improve my chances. Some interesting softs, but widely scattered (ranging from interning at a cancer ward, to teaching English in Israel, to a marketing position in Sydney).

Basically going for the best school I can get into. My future aspirations are for the East Coast, but I'm flexible at the moment. Fortunately, moneys not the biggest issue, but its always a factor. My list includes the t14 (minus HYS of course), plus Vandy, GW, and Tulane.

Setting down now to work on my PS and all the extra essays I can write. I'm a confident writer, so that leaves two major issues with my app: 1) my GPA (slight upward trend, but no real tangible fuel for an addendum); and 2) the fact that I have no legal experience on my CV.

Besides the obvious impact of my GPA, how much will that second one hurt me? I can see it coming up in interviews as a question of my desire/drive to be a lawyer.

Thanks in advance. I'd love to return the favor if possible.

bk1

Re: Watch me do the splits

Postby bk1 » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:28 pm

Retake won't help, not having legal experience won't hurt, not many schools do interviews but I'm sure you can bullshit your way through the "why you want to be a lawyer" question if necessary.

YourCaptain

Postby YourCaptain » Wed Jul 06, 2011 8:28 pm

You and I are(were..) very close numbers-wise.

Choose which MVP you want to ED to, or NU if you have WE. Be careful with your apps, and if you ED MVP shoot them off early so that you can keeping EDing if you get rejected.