3.50/172 very meh...insight please!

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
swoozie

3.50/172 very meh...insight please!

Postby swoozie » Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:12 am

[edit] (for a reason I have yet to figure out, lsac calculates a 3.50 rather than 3.49. It doesn't make any difference but seeing that 5 makes me happier.)

I know there are some boards with similar numbers to mine and I looked through them, but I felt that the responses were quite varied (some really optimistic, others much less so). That combined with LSN has me quite confused. (Also currently planning an Oct retake).

So there are my numbers. I have an UG degree in chem e and 2 yrs WE (up to almost 3 if I work until next summer but I doubt I'll do that). I did research in lab for 2 summers and got an internship my 3rd. Some other activities during UG (got an honors degree and wrote a thesis, which basically means did a lot of extra work for nothing, IMO) but nothing too exciting.
Not an URM.

Here's what I was thinking:

Don't feel great about my chances here, but applying anyways:
UChi, NYU

Then apply to MVP, NU, GULC, George Washington. I threw out Boalt because I figure my GPA is too low. Also going to point out that NU and V are probably close to bottom in terms of my interest level in going.

If I throw an ED anywhere I'd probably throw it on UChi. Bad choice?
Any other suggestions or wisdom? Will probably try to use my background to get into IP.
Last edited by swoozie on Mon Sep 05, 2011 2:31 am, edited 1 time in total.

Law Sauce

Re: 3.49/172 very meh...insight please!

Postby Law Sauce » Tue Jul 05, 2011 10:20 am

Just to throw something out that you probably already have seen. Here are Chicago's EDers last year on LSN http://chicago.lawschoolnumbers.com/applicants/1011/?lsat2=180&lsatR=true&lsat1=120&lgpa1=1.00&lgpa2=4.33&status=3,4,5,6,7,8&application_type=3&type=jd