3.5 LSAC GPA, 170 PR Male chances at T14 $$?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
mickeyD

3.5 LSAC GPA, 170 PR Male chances at T14 $$?

Postby mickeyD » Mon Jun 27, 2011 11:24 pm

Hey guys, like most people in here I just received my June score and got a 170. I am half PR, and from what I understand bi-racial is considered URM. I am retaking in October and am very confident that I can do better, but am interested to get some opinions about my chances considering LSN has little data on PR URMs and LSP is apparently a little off for splitters.

Like the topic says I have a 3.5 GPA. I have a lot of work experience, but mainly part time jobs during the school year and full time jobs during the summer. I'm involved in a lot of extracurriculars (fraternity, sports, other student orgs) and have probably average LORs. What would you consider my chances at MVPCCN and the rest of the T14? Due to financial constraints I'm really big on getting scholarship money which is why I plan on retaking, what scores do you think I would need to get for some money at Penn?

Please don't quote the OP as I plan on editing later for privacy, thank you all so much in advance!
Last edited by mickeyD on Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mickeyD

Re: 3.5 LSAC GPA, 170 URM chances at T14 $$?

Postby mickeyD » Tue Jun 28, 2011 11:40 am

Also I am applying straight through and would prefer to do so, but how much would finishing senior year and gaining another 1.5 in GPA help me? A 3.65 would put me above the lower 25th for Chi, NYU, M, Penn, UVA, and NU.

MCockerill08

Postby MCockerill08 » Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:03 pm

From the numbers I've read, you are very likely to get in everywhere but Y/S. Very few URM's (in the less inclusive sense of that term, i.e. NA, AA, PR, Mexican) score 170+. What is your major?
Last edited by MCockerill08 on Wed Jun 29, 2011 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.