low GPAs from 15 years ago, lots of work experience

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
fonteyn

low GPAs from 15 years ago, lots of work experience

Postby fonteyn » Wed Jun 08, 2011 6:11 pm

I have a BS in computer science (2.9), a MS in computer science from a top 10 (3.2), and am ABD on a Ph D from a top 10 school in computer science (which I am not planning to finish because my advisor left). I have 15+ years of work experience in my field, and have taught for 9 semesters at a state university in my field. Excellent LOCs from top people in the field, many awards and publications, and practice test estimates that my LSAT will be 170+ (My GREs were 96%, so I think this is reasonable). I spoke to the head of the department that I am interested at GULC in and she said I appeared to be an ideal candidate (but she hadn't seen my application yet).

Recently GULC opened a new LL.M. program in the legal aspects of my field, and this is the only university I want to attend. I plan on taking the LSAT in October, and will apply at GULC after that - ultimately for the JD/LLM joint degree. So, bleh GPAs (though I did work full-time through all degree programs), lots of graduate work (but apparently LSAC doesn't count any of that???), lots of relevant work experience, publications, and awards. WAMC? Am I going through all of this just to be hugely disappointed? I can't find much information on TLS or LSN that talks much about graduate degrees, work experience, publications, and teaching experience. I guess the only think I really have going against me is my GPA, but I am not sure how much that matters since it was 12 - 15 years ago.

Thoughts?
Last edited by fonteyn on Wed Jun 08, 2011 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lolol10

Re: low GPAs from 15 years ago, lots of work experience

Postby lolol10 » Wed Jun 08, 2011 6:15 pm

i recommend you study then take the LSAT.

lolol10