Speculating chances...

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
Shallow

Speculating chances...

Postby Shallow » Sun May 29, 2011 3:10 pm

Hey all,

This a somewhat hypothetical thread. I haven't taken the LSAT yet (that'll happen in October -- I'm studying now), but I have my cumulative UGPA calculated using the tool on Law School Predictor. The number it returned was ugly: 3.40. However, I'm relying on my personal statement (explaining medical circumstances leading to low grades in my early years) and strong upward trend to tide me over. By upward trend, I mean that once everything was resolved, I received straight A's. My GPA at the school I graduated from (transferred twice) was a 4.0.

Softs include service trips through school-sponsored programs, leadership positions, PBK (I know that's not a big deal, but everything helps), and at least part-time work throughout entire college career.

A lot of what I've read has suggested that a poor UGPA is completely damning, regardless of the circumstances surrounding it. Is this true, or just people being pessimistic? Do law schools put only marginal consideration into upward trends in conjunction with medical circumstances like those I listed above?

As far as where I'm looking to go -- obviously the higher the better. T50 for sure, with an eye on UNC (I'm a NC resident). T14 would be awesome, but after seeing what the predictor spit out I think my chances are shot. I'll never know until I try, but I'm trying to decide whether it's even worth trying.

Any input? Suggestions? Words of encouragement?

bport hopeful

Re: Speculating chances...

Postby bport hopeful » Sun May 29, 2011 3:11 pm

Your trend/Personal Statement wont do you much if any good. Rape the LSAT and go from there. Break a 165 and youll still break T30.

kalvano

Postby kalvano » Sun May 29, 2011 3:13 pm