Chances at T30 without work experience? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
miss_juris

New

Chances at T30 without work experience?

Post by miss_juris » Sat May 28, 2011 1:10 pm

Thank you for the taking the time to read my post. I have a few questions regarding my chances in the next application cycle and how I can best strengthen my application. My stats are listed below, but I wanted to mention that I have an upward GPA trend, with my last year averaging a 3.8 GPA. I'm still very concerned with my low LSAC GPA and with hardly any work experience I feel that it may completely close my options to a T30 acceptance. The good news is my LSAT score which I am very satisfied with, yet I have average/below average softs. I am a California resident and attended a school in the University of California system. Therefore, I would love to stay in California (although I heard they like high GPAs) unless a better option presented itself which I would gladly take. I am also curious if I should take a year off before applying to gain some work experience or obtain a masters which I think I would greatly benefit from. I heard however that law schools don't take master degrees into account and that law firms may look down on them, which to me seems odd - is this true?

Political Science B.S.
minor in International Studies

GPA: 3.10 (3.38) LSAT: 172
URM: NA & AA female

- 2 year scholarship athlete D1 school
- staff writer for university's newspaper
- hundreds of hours working in local soup kitchen
- habitat for humanity volunteer
- member of law school forum
- worked several weeks on Native American reservations
- 6 month long internship with District Attorney

Any advice or suggestions are more than appreciated. Thank you!

JD2014

Bronze

Re: Chances at T30 without work experience?

Post by JD2014 » Sat May 28, 2011 1:16 pm

This: http://www.lawschoolpredictor.com/