3.54, 170, what are my chances?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
legallybrunette12345

3.54, 170, what are my chances?

Postby legallybrunette12345 » Wed May 25, 2011 7:07 am

i'm trying to figure out what my chances are for a t14 law school.
i'm currently an undergrad at an ivy league school
softs - VP of a pre-law fraternity, involved in asian american activist movements on campus, interned with the local government and will be interning with a pro-bono legal defense fund this summer.
gpa is at a 3.54, and my practice tests are averaging at a 170.
i'm thinking -
reach - nyu/columbia
targets - cornell, duke, northwestern, chicago, penn
any other suggestions?
?

théo

Re: 3.54, 170, what are my chances?

Postby théo » Wed May 25, 2011 10:12 am

Chicago is going to be a reach for you too.

Mike12188

Postby Mike12188 » Wed May 25, 2011 10:16 am

théo wrote:Chicago is going to be a reach for you too.

And Penn

Muenchen

Postby Muenchen » Wed May 25, 2011 10:16 am

First, come back when you have a REAL LSAT score. No one is really going to give you substantive advice with just your PT scores.

And based on this, like other people have said, Chicago should definitely be among the reaches, and possibly also Penn.

Assuming these end up being your actual stats, blanket the T15 and maybe throw in apps to CCN.

lawyerwannabe

Postby lawyerwannabe » Wed May 25, 2011 2:22 pm

If you do actually score a 170, taking a quick glance at LSN would tell you that...

With an ED application you will probably get these results:

CCN : Out (may get a consolation spot on a WL)
MVPD : In
CG : In

With a RD application you will probably get these results:

CCN : See above
MVPD : Rejected / WL
CG : WL / In

The only thing that may swing things slightly in your favor is your Ivy undergrad. Sometimes that can be a bit of a wild card in admissions to top law schools.