Planning Stages of Law School Prep, A few questions

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
dsn32

Planning Stages of Law School Prep, A few questions

Postby dsn32 » Sun May 01, 2011 4:07 pm

Hey everyone, I'm a rising junior in undergrad currently trying to figure out the best plan of action moving forward in terms of applying to law schools, taking the LSAT, etc. I just had a couple of questions that I was hoping some of you could answers, as I'd assume you all know more than I do at this point in the process.

1. What are the pros and cons of applying early in my senior year with a slightly lower GPA (I'd estimate a 3.53) vs. applying in late December/early Jan. with a slightly higher GPA (est. 3.58). I realize these aren't the greatest numbers, but they are being dragged down by a pitiful fall semester of my freshman year and have trended upward ever since.

2. What boost, if any, does the reputation of your undergraduate institution give you? I'm under the impression that this means little in the application process and in terms of being more favorable towards a slightly lower GPA (FWIW, I go to a top 5 public university).

3. I have not taken a diagnostic yet, but I do plan on doing so in the very near future. I anticipate my weaknesses to be on the LG and LR sections, and my strength going in as RC. What would be the best course of action after my diagnostic (i.e. a course at TestMasters, Princeton Review, Kaplan vs. intensive self-teaching)?

4. Lastly, I feel that I will have very solid "softs", including near full-time employment that most would consider relevant work experience in a professional field. Obviously, this takes up time, and I'm wondering if my focus would be better spent elsewhere if I do decide to go full-steam ahead in the law school process.

Thanks for any help! I look forward to any/all reponses!

Knock