Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!

Postby hyrule » Mon Apr 25, 2011 3:10 am

I've been debating law school for a couple of years now. Basically, I keep going back and forth between receiving my J.D. or enrolling in a secondary education certification program. However, I took the December LSAT and received a 174, which has pushed me to slightly favor the law school track. (I was pretty surprised at the 174. I never received over a 172 on practice tests. Maybe taking it in December was to my advantage?)

-- I attend a large, un-prestigious Wisconsin state university (UW-Milwaukee). I'm about to finish my English/History double major (useless, I know) with a 4.0 GPA, given I don't bomb my final class, which I'll be taking this summer.
-- As for softs, I've been a full-time office manager for about six months now. I'll continue my position from now until law school. I also work in my school's writing lab, have received a couple of academic awards, and have had a few items published in literary magazines. Overall, I have nothing spectacular on my resume that would set me apart at HYS.
-- I have no law office experience, but I'm currently looking into internships. I just need to find more time.
-- I'm a white female.

My questions are:

-- Should I apply to Harvard, Yale, and Stanford? I feel like I'm not far off from a Harvard acceptance, but I don't know where I stand with the other two schools considering my sub-175 LSAT. Any chance?
-- How far down the rankings list would I have to go to expect a decent amount of merit aid? A six-figure debt doesn't sound like a good time, especially considering a good job isn't guaranteed these days.
-- If I wanted to eventually practice in Wisconsin, would it make more sense for me to take a full ride to UW-Madison than attend schools one through fourteen?