How much does residency affect chances at UVA ED?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
vissidarte27

How much does residency affect chances at UVA ED?

Postby vissidarte27 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:44 pm

3.2 GPA, first LSAT was 163 in February.

I'm retaking in June and anticipating a higher score (today's PT was 176). But, if I don't break the 170 that I know is needed for low-GPA out-of-state-applicants, might I still be okay with a 168 or a 169 since I am a Virginia resident?

I know that 40% of their admissions are in-state applicants; how much does that affect the numbers game?

mettasutta

Re: How much does residency affect chances at UVA ED?

Postby mettasutta » Sun Apr 24, 2011 7:56 pm

In-state do get a small boost, but I did a search on LSN of sub-170 apps with your GPA in the past three cycles, and there was not one non-URM...it is a pretty limited sample though.

JamMasterJ

Postby JamMasterJ » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:51 pm

Supposedly, UVA has a stronger in-state boost than other state schools. I don't know if you could go much lower, but from what I've heard on here, I think that a 168/3.2 ED would most likely get you in.

Patriot1208

Postby Patriot1208 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:31 am

Definitely a boost, but with that GPA you will need a much higher score.

oscodasa

Postby oscodasa » Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:38 am

Patriot1208 wrote:Definitely a boost, but with that GPA you will need a much higher score.

+1. If you know you want UVa it would be well within your best interest to submit ED with that GPA. If you don't submit ED, UVa is a school that takes personal interest very seriously, so be sure to submit a Why UVa.

And also be sure to visit - it's a wonderful school and won me over instantly.

Good luck!

vissidarte27

Postby vissidarte27 » Wed Apr 27, 2011 4:52 pm

oscodasa wrote:
Patriot1208 wrote:Definitely a boost, but with that GPA you will need a much higher score.