Why are so many rejected? Forum

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
northerniowan

Bronze

Why are so many rejected?

Post by northerniowan » Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:59 pm

Hi, I'm new to TLS but have been lurking since a week or so before I took the February LSAT. I am a junior Finance major and am looking to apply for Fall 2012. I scored a 158 on the LSAT and have a 3.3 gpa. I know those numbers are horrible for TLS, but they seem to fit very nicely into admissions grids on the LSAC website and the 25-75 ranges for some schools listed on the Boston College Law School Locator.

So my main question is how come there are so many people rejected from law school? My numbers aren't great at all, but they seem to give me a competitive shot at many schools. Are there really that many people with outlandish (145) LSATs and 2.5 gpas applying to law school? Are there so many people rejected because they apply late? Or is there a great shot at me getting rejected even if my LSAT is above the school's Q1 and gpa is at the median (even if I apply early)?

I am asking this right after I looked at Rutger's (completely random, just looked out of curiosity), and saw the number of people that applied vs the number offered admissions. It was ridiculous even though the school doesn't require superb GPA or LSAT numbers.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. Thank You.

kk19131

Silver

Re: Why are so many rejected?

Post by kk19131 » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:00 pm

northerniowan wrote:H
So my main question is how come there are so many people rejected from law school?

Supply and demand? :?

paratactical

Platinum

Post by paratactical » Wed Mar 09, 2011 5:05 pm

northerniowan wrote: Or is there a great shot at me getting rejected even if my LSAT is above the school's Q1 and gpa is at the median (even if I apply early)?