Chances/retake?

Not sure where your numbers will get you? Dying to know where you stand? Come have your palms read by your fellow posters!
amc987

Chances/retake?

Postby amc987 » Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:03 pm

Hey all. I am a longtime lurker and occasional poster on this board. I just took the Feb LSAT and got a 166. This was on the lower end of my practices (I was PTing around a 172/173 average, with a few in the high 70s). I also had a 3.5 in Politics from HYP (upward trend, but I know the adcoms don't care), and average softs. By average I mean did a couple of int'l internships during the summer, I have some political campaign experience (at school with the College Dems and outside volunteering for progressive candidates), taught/tutored inner-city kids, and I was an RA. I believe I'd like to pursue a career in international law and human rights (I'm not 100% certain of this, but I know I'd like to explore these types of courses and programs wherever I end up going.)

I had been shooting for a top 10 school, but obviously my LSAT score and GPA combo (I retook a 15X score in Oct) make this difficult. I am also an AA male, which I've heard can give you a bit of a boost, but a) I have no idea how far that boost goes, b) I don't actually believe it goes as far as some people here say it does and c) I'd have a hard time knowing that I went to a school that I only got into because of a URM boost. I don't mean to start some vigorous debate on the subject, but that's how I feel.

What do people think about a retake? I'm feeling a bit burned out at the moment, but I'm sure I could probably get the motivation back for one last go around. If I could get a score in the 170s on my third try, would it even make a difference at CCN and down? I'm afraid with 2 scores outside their range, I might just be wasting my time. What do you all think?

I'd appreciate any advice you all might have. Thanks!

thecynic69

Re: Chances/retake?

Postby thecynic69 » Thu Mar 03, 2011 11:34 pm